I see what you did there

A tale of the stupidity of bibliometrics

The impact factors of 2011 have been out for a couple of weeks now. It’s like New York Fashion Week for geeks or as if Moses got a brand new pair of stone tablets every year! I’m no exception to the buzz: I studied the JCR to check where my publication list stands and what are the trends for next year. I’m pretty glad with my news but that’s not what I want to talk about.

Right on the top 20 journals ranked by IF, there’s a journal of my field. Not possible. My field is IF 10 max! Truly intrigued I was, so I checked the journal’s website. Weird: unsophisticated layout and no electronic submission system. What is this, the XX century?? But the editor is renowned they did publish a lot last year and on interesting stuff… the same authors appear repeatedly in each paper… Hold on a minute.

Back to JCR, this is what I find:

Leave a Reply

