I’m a Biologist

and I like it. Actually, not any kind of Biologist, but a Molecular and Cellular Biologist. Neat, hun? Not that I do living things anymore. Now I do what happens to non-living things when people do things with living things.

Anyway, the pre-graduate stage of my higher education left a mark. I forgot most of what I learned about genetics and biochemisty and even about viruses (men, I was such a virology nerd back in the days) and my knowledge of parasites and zoology is now a mere collection of fun facts. But the most important things stayed: intellectual payback and soft-skills. I learned the basic of doing research and scientific writing on those first four years. I basked in my addiction to how living things work, to how beautiful they are and to systematics (when I wasn’t dreading all of the physics, chemistry and mathematics required to fully comprehend all of this). These were the reasons I decided to study Biology in first place (that and that I didn’t make it into veterinary).

the acronym of our degree

Most importantly, I found friends. We found each other and some of us even found love in each other. We’re now scattered in the mess of emigrating, getting married, having babies, struggling with shaping a career… being adults. Which doesn’t leave us with a lot of opportunities to be together. But, still, we are. There are dinners, the occasional drink-and-dance-it-out parties and even holidays! And then there are hugs and kisses and chatting it up. In the meantime, there’s the internet and cellphones.

I’m a sketchy Biologist. But an imprinted one. Instead of apotheosis, the other day I said that a good concert ended in apoptosis. If any of my biologist friends had been near me at that moment, he/she would have laughed with me (or felt embarrassed for me). (So I ran to Facebook to post my lapse so that they would still do.) I can’t really shake it off. That’s why, for some reason, I sold most of my college books except for one, the one we all bought and studied from, which I keep as a bulky and expensive souvenir, somewhere in my room in Portugal gathering dust. It kind of reminds me that whatever I choose do to, I risk a beautiful outcome if my drivers are good and I give myself to whatever I encounter. It’s not always like that, but it’s a worthy platitude when actually worked once!

Leave a Reply

